How you turn my world, you precious thing.

Ever since I heard the news, I’ve been thinking about how I was going to write this post. And since I couldn’t decide on a best way, I think I’m just going to write and see what happens. But the problem with this method is that I’ll probably be exploring and processing my feelings regarding all this and so… I guess just be prepared for feels? I don’t know.

Yesterday, David Bowie passed away and the world lost another brilliant artist.

To say Bowie is my favorite musician is something of an understatement. Since I was very young, I’ve loved Labyrinth and held a fascination with goblins and magical places. Jareth the Goblin King has had a huge influence on all my trickster archetype pseudo-villain characters. Seriously, in Third Prince, the youngest is Joren the Goblin King, monarch of the Underground and until I put that thing through editing, he’s going to remain a moderately more jerkface version of Jareth.

David Bowie in Labyrinth (1986)

David Bowie in Labyrinth (1986)

Beyond Labyrinth, though, I’ve been listening to Bowie’s music my whole life. My parents are both musicians and they felt it was important that we were exposed to as many different genres and artists as possible. Of all my siblings, I was the only one who really latched onto Bowie’s work outside the music he wrote for Labyrinth. (Can you tell we can easily bond over muppet goblins?)

His experimentation with music as well as his fashion styles influenced me as a writer and as a human being as well. He was never afraid of doing something outside the norm, no matter how seemingly oddball the decision may be. I’ve struggled my entire adult life with being that comfortable with myself and my interests and choices.

There were times when my depression was overwhelming and the only thing that would console me and keep me going was his Heroes album. Or I would turn on The Prestige just for his scenes as Nikola Tesla. I owe a lot of who I am to his example and I feel the world is a little less bright without him.

David Bowie photographed by Andrew Kent, 1975

David Bowie photographed by Andrew Kent, 1975

I never met him, though I only ever wanted was a few minutes to thank him for his work, and I cannot say one way or another regarding who he was as a person, his character. But as an artist, I can say I believe he created and worked with integrity and only ever wanted to express himself honestly. Since I was old enough to know what that meant, I have strived to do the same.

I don’t truly believe in muses anymore (another post for another time) but if I did, I think David Bowie might have been mine. With his courage of self-expression as well as his work itself to inspire my own, I feel comfortable enough to know I can succeed some day. If I don’t? I did my best to not care if the world thinks I’m weird for it.

We may no longer have him, but we will always have his work and no one can take that away from us. And for that, I will forever be grateful.

I will forever be grateful for David Bowie.

Bowie002

About alicegracey

Writer, Actor, Advice Nerd. At least, that's what it says on my business card these days. Mostly, I just write in order to try to get my brain to shut up. I like to share what I write, but be warned, I don't do happy.
This entry was posted in Let's Chat, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

