End of Month Word Counts — January 2016

Okay, so I didn’t get around to writing a Stardate: Dammit for January, mostly because I couldn’t get myself to focus on the same thing for seven hours and also I was distracted by seeing people who don’t live in central California. Instead, I’m going to keep you updated on my various projects word-or-page counts (depending on the project, obvi) and hopefully get that posted on the last day of each month.

But first! This is Finnley:

20160131_141523

I will never understand how this position is comfortable.

He’s a mini Schanuzer and he’s my writing buddy. But he’s a doggie, so he thinks writing is boring and therefore he keeps me company usually by sleeping on me.

So books/novellas will be judged by word count and scripts will be judged by page count.

Betrayal at the House on the Hill
Plot Bunny: Holy shit, I love the game Betrayal at the House on the Hill. I should totally write a play in which the audience chooses the haunt/ending!
Page count: 29/120

Brigade Ship Intrepid: Maculatum
Plot Bunny: God, I love Star Trek. But I also love Dungeons and Dragons. And steampunk. Squish them together and add a character that’s like Bennett!
Word Count: 52,743/75,000

Distrusted
Plot Bunny: League of Extraordinary Gentleman was a fun movie. The graphic novel was better. You know what would be cool? Picking other characters from Victorian lit that aren’t as known/popular and shoving them all together, turn up the heat and then poke them with a stick.
Word Count: 37,589/30,000 — Currently in re-writes.

Funny Little Games
Plot Bunny: Hey, you know that musical you and Vivienne are working on about Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson investigating the Jack the Ripper case? Do that, but better. Make Bennett an actual person, not a death vending machine. Also, improve the research; you know better.
Word Count: 42,751/100,000

The Haunted Mansion
Plot Bunny: The 2003 Eddie Murphy vehicle was awful. Make it better. Do the correct research.
Page Count: 40/120

The Shadow’s Gate
Plot Bunny: Holy hell, this D&D campaign is way too interesting to not write down. Also, the accidental friendship between Bob’s Tiefling and my Drow was way too awesome to not share with the world. But, you know, change things to not violate copyright. Also, make sure you give the whole group additional writing credit.
Word Count: 10, 657/75,000

Tidbit
Plot Bunny: While playing Skyrim, a werewolf character called me Tidbit and I adored it. Also, what if the end of the world wasn’t because of nuclear holocaust or zombie apocalypse but because of magic and Elves are a thing?
Word Count: 9,928/50,000

Tulgey Wood
Plot Bunny: Alice goes back to Wonderland and teams up with the Hatter and the White Knight to save the Princess of Hearts because she’s been kidnapped. But also make it a show for 8-14 year old kids.
Page Count: 27/120

Untitled Bennett/Holmes AU
Plot Bunny: Take Bennett and Holmes and put them into new shenanigans and alter their continuity. Again. But this time, ignore Jack the Ripper.
Word Count: 40,077/60,000

Witch!
Plot Bunny: The Salem Witch Hysteria was a really important and interesting blot on America’s history. Let’s tell that story using a fictional town, but also actual evidence against the witches. May or may not actually show interrogation torture tactics.
Page Count: 32/120

Wonderlanders
Plot Bunny: So… Alice’s Adventures Underground and Through the Looking Glass are fun. But what if other people were able to travel to Wonderland and only Alice was able to have her story written down? Now have the heroine be contemporary and, like, the Hatter’s BFF.
Word Count: 17,183/75,000

20160131_145820

He needed to relocate to a squishier bed.

See you all in February!

About alicegracey

Writer, Actor, Advice Nerd. At least, that's what it says on my business card these days. Mostly, I just write in order to try to get my brain to shut up. I like to share what I write, but be warned, I don't do happy.
This entry was posted in Holy Buckets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment